Oh me Oh my…

Okay, so we have two young children in our house with a third on the way! Some days are so great and other days I struggle to just make it until bedtime. Sometimes I am just totally exhausted. I’m really trying to get some organization and steady rules in place in our home. Michael has always told me “Rachel, you have to be consistent”. This sounds so easy, but in everyday life it’s so DIFFICULT! I have to say, it’s my biggest challenge as a mother. I’ve been reading a lot of different websites on raising toddlers and young children and the final verdict turns out to be: CONSISTENCY! This is one little blurb I took out of an article I’ve been reading:

* Be consistent. If hand washing before dinner was compulsory yesterday
but overlooked today, the only lesson learned is that rules are confusing or meaningless. So make sure you stick to the rules you establish, or you’ll lose credibility. When you do make an exception, explain why (“Your cousins are visiting so — just for tonight — you can stay up an extra hour to hang out with them”).

It’s interesting to see how toddlers (and young children’s) minds work! I’d hate to think that I am the one confusing my child or making them think certain things in life are “meaningless”. I’m praying that God would help me to be more consistent with my children. I have a big job to do and it’s gonna leave an impact for a lifetime, wether positive or negative! So, I need to work hard and be consistent to help give my kids the start in life they need, the positive start they need.

6 Responses to “Oh me Oh my…”

  1. stephlsblog Says:

    Oh girl, I could have written this post myself (except the ages and I don’t have 1 on the way 🙂 ) I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately too. Maybe we can work on this together?

  2. randirobot Says:

    if you ever need a break rachel i can totally come and watch the kiddies. even if you’re home and you need time to get some stuff done! i am serious!

    • rachellarkin Says:

      wow! That is so incredibly thoughtful of you to even offer that! You’re amazing! Thanks so much 🙂

  3. Sandra Says:

    Remember that, take her up on that, don’t ever let Randirobot forgot that, anywhere from 2 hrs to whatever is just what the body needs. You go girl. LOL, that was very nice of her, she is amazing, you’re right. Thanks Randirobot.

  4. Sarette Says:

    Haha, I think I will stick to puppy training for now! But one day when I have kids, it’s you I’m calling Rachel!!

  5. jolittle Says:

    consistency is very hard, you are doing a great job… 🙂


Leave a Reply

