Not oatmeal cookies, mom!

Last week, I ventured out of the ordinary cookie baking routine and tried to make “healthy” oatmeal cookies. I read, if you have the kids help, they are more probable to eat them too! So, I got both the kids into the kitchen and together we made my new found recipe…sort of…to tell you the truth, my old friend from elementary school came over that day and saw the cookies and asked “what are those”, the kids took the same approach to the final product.

Needless to say, the cookies didn’t score in my house. So, a week later, I wanted to try again. Mind you, this recipe is truly “homemade” meaning, there is no recipe. I’m out here on a limb trying to make these cookies taste good. Just adding a little of this and a little of that.

When I called to Aidan to come make cookies, here’s how it went down:

Me: Aidan, you wanna help me make some cookies?

Aidan: Yeah, (as he comes running into the kitchen)

Me: Okay, come on lets do it!

Aidan: Oh, but not the oatmeal cookies, mom!

Me: Why not? That’s what I was gonna do.

Aidan: Cuz their not good, lets do the old kind instead!

So, I made the classic chocolate chip cookies. But after that, I made the Healthy Oatmeal Cookies and I sold the kids on trying them because they’re different…see these have raisins! It’s a hit, now the problem is: I didn’t write out what I put in the darn recipe! Ughhhh!!!
2467079836_714d266c33jpg

5 Responses to “Not oatmeal cookies, mom!”

  1. daniellewilson Says:

    oh no! so were they good?

  2. rachellarkin Says:

    this time yes, I think so and so did the kids!

  3. stephlsblog Says:

    I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I was going to suggest that, but if they like the raisins that’s even better! In home ec in high school we made huge ones on pizza pans. That might be another fun way to get them into it.

  4. daniellewilson Says:

    They were good rachel! šŸ™‚

  5. Emilie Says:

    Those cookies were amazing rach! Make more! (you’ll figure the recipe don’t worry:p )


Leave a Reply

