some things I needed to be put into perspective…

This past week, I had a couple days where I was starting to wonder…

Wonder about where I belong (yet again) with the whole church planting thing and with life in general. It seems sometimes I want so much, or I want it ALL (to go out with friends, to take part in EVERY aspect of Cinema Church, to work, to go to the gym, to be a mom, to be a wife, and on and on and on)…but honestly, I need to sift through all the “STUFF” I do, and really think about what is most important?

I broke down and talked with Michael about it for awhile one day this past week, and he really helped me put it into perspective. I am so thankful I have him. Then, God went and gave me another reminder HERE!

I’m not wondering where I belong anymore, and I’m not gonna be able to say YES to everything, because frankly this is what’s important to me:
img_4595

img_45621
img_4531

When I think about it, at the end of the day…does it really matter if I met this person for lunch, or went here to support this thing or that thing, especially if the cost is that I lose my husband or kids in the end? No it’s not worth it at all. My first place to make a difference in this world, is right in my very own home! I love when God uses other people to show me something life changing…it makes me thankful for the obedience of others!

6 Responses to “some things I needed to be put into perspective…”

  1. mrsjustinwilliams Says:

    I completely agree with you Rachel, Family is important. I too fell bad sometimes because I cant make it to functions that people want me to attend, or even the simple things like the gym, a movie, or lunch. I know though that having you and Mike blessed in our lives has completely given me a new outlook on life. Rachel, between you and I , Things have changed in my life dramactically and for the better. Thanks!

  2. mrsjustinwilliams Says:

    Oh yeah, when are you going to add me to your page???

  3. jolittle Says:

    awesome blog I am glad you are feeling better about things, amazing how God works right? I have never seen Michael smile so much. Love the photos.

  4. rachellarkin Says:

    kari, I didn’t know you were blogging again? What is your blog name?

    Jo, thanks, I love how much he loves being with them, it’s so sweet!

  5. jolittle Says:

    yea me too… hmmmmmmmmmm old friend

  6. daniellewilson Says:

    Rachel this is awesome! I agree with you family does come first I know that my mom has a problem with saying yes to everything which in return I say yes to everything. I have been struggling with what I need to do these next couple of months.


Leave a Reply

