CONVICTION and the change that it brings…

Okay, so I am usually pretty good about what I put into my mind. I am a firm believer that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit. And, to me that includes my mind. I try to guard my mind against certain things. How do I do this? I am careful about what I put in (or expose my mind to). This includes the magazines and books I read, the shows I watch on television, the movies I rent (or choose to see at theaters), and the music I listen to.

Well, I have to say, years ago, I was hooked on a certain television show, and then I was super convicted about this topic. That is when I decided to “clean up” my act. The show was Desperate Housewives, I felt that in the long run in my own personal life it didn’t help for me as a woman to expose myself to the thoughts and escapades these characters were taking part in. I chose to stop watching the show. Unfortunately, it seems I have become very lax in this field, and I am sorry to say I have managed to somehow get hooked on the crazy show again. Yesterday I read this and now I am truly CONVICTED! I am happy to say God has worked on my heart and mind and I am committing to once again clean up my life and mind. This is gonna be a hard road, but one I’m sure I’ll be happier with in the long run.

Am I saying no one should watch that specific show? No, not at all, I’m just saying that God has given me the gift of the Holy Spirit, who dwells in me. He is my Savior, my Rock, my Refuge, my Redeemer, and why in the world would I allow myself to waste precious time in life to expose myself to so much junk! Another thing I think of now (and when I initially gave up the show years ago this was not the case in my life) is that I am a mamma, I have a lot of responsibility, it’s my job to teach my children so much in life. I want to do my best to abstain from certain things in life so that when the time comes to teach my children I don’t have to say “do as I say, not as I do”, instead I can claim it as my own too!

My prayer has always been that my children would be as pure as possible in this crazy world. I feel like it’s my obligation to show them the way to make that happen as best as I can. I know this is one small way I can help to make that prayer a reality! After all, didn’t we just learn today that faith without works is dead? Here’s my chance to do the natural so that I can allow God to do the SUPER!

Thanks Cody for the post. Just so you know, God used you to reach me. It’s amazing how He does that, I love it! Thanks for committing to being a vessel that can be used by God! Keep seeking His will and growing, you never know who you’re reaching!

So in closing, tonight I say farewell to my old friend ABC! This time, I’m gonna make sure it sticks, I will no longer be waiting with baited breath for the clock to tick at 9pm on Sunday evening…instead I will find more constructive things to do with my time.

Posted in God. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “CONVICTION and the change that it brings…”

  1. CodyBreault Says:

    You are a true inspiration to me. It makes me all fuzzy inside to know you’re taking a stand. Whoo

  2. rachellarkin Says:

    Thanks Cody, that is great to hear, I’ll need all the encouragement I can get on this one. this is really a tough one! I appreciate it so much!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    You can do it!! You already did it once and you then convicted me to stop! You can do it again girlfriend!!

  4. jolittle Says:

    awesome post! watch the food network with me and lets learn how to be better cooks together… 🙂

  5. rachellarkin Says:

    thanks Steph, glad you stuck with it…
    Jo, I love that channel except after 8pm they don’t have stuff i’m too interested in on!

  6. Sarette Says:

    Time for you to get hooked on Lost instead.
    Just a couple times, and you’ll be addicted.
    Pretty sure they still have every season online.


Leave a Reply

