First Day of School

Oh my goodness, where does the time go!  I feel like it was just yesterday I was at Middlesex holding him as a newborn baby!  This past Thursday, was Aidan’s first day of preschool.  I would love to tell you how much fun he had and how amazing it was.  Unfortunately, my little guy was scared to death.  He clung to mommy for the whole time!  I tried my best to help him get involved, but “A” takes a LONG time to warm up to new ideas.  Tuesday, is the day we do the big drop off.  Yup, we have to LEAVE him there in the hands of strangers to be an independent young boy.  It’s there Aidan will start to learn some real independence in life!  Please pray on Tuesday for my baby as he goes to preschool without mom and dad for the first time!  I know I will be crying inside the whole morning!  Good luck dad (he’s the lucky one to do the “big drop off”!

img_4112

img_4116I love this picture so much, it will be engraved in my mind FOREVER!

 

img_4114I can’t even begin to explain in words how much this boy means to me!  

7 Responses to “First Day of School”

  1. Sarette Says:

    Aw Rachel, I cannot imagine how you feel. Don’t worry though… I cried pretty much constantly through pre-school and I turned out alright lol.

  2. rachellarkin Says:

    oh no! I couldn’t handle him crying through all of preschool! It would kill me inside!

  3. staceyweaver Says:

    sooooooooo cute rach!!

    you guys are the best parents

  4. Lauren Woods Says:

    I see that with the K kids at the beginning of the year. It takes time but he’ll be bouncing around soon. I can relate to Aidan. We lived across from the elementary school but it didn’t matter, my brothers still had to carry me in for the first few days. I’m so glad you have found a home.

  5. jolittle Says:

    awww Aidan…you know as hard as it is to imagine he will be fine once you leave, yes he will cry but the teachers are trained and loving to deal with that. It seems to be always harder when the parent is there. Just when you say goodbye tell him you “will” be back to get him. When I ran the preschool back home I would spend most of my mornings on the phone talking to parents who left their kids crying, them crying too..so it was my job to reassure them that their children were fine. I always promised that if their child had an extremely hard time and would not stop crying that I would call them. “)
    Each week will be easier.
    Ha! I remember bringin Haylee , she would cry and twirl her hair around her fingers and not talk. I would wait outside and spy on them on the playground and peek in the hall ways to watch her. (and I am still stalking) Most school have an open door policy and let you observe or peek.. but in my opinion it is better on the both of you if you leave and let him adjust.
    Gosh I know it is hard, I will be praying for you and Mike…

  6. Dennis Wilson Says:

    haha i love these pictures!

  7. Sandra Says:

    GULP!!!


Leave a Reply

