Acts 6

Read: Acts 6

Key Verses: Acts 6:1-4 During this time, as the disciples were increasing in numbers by leaps and bounds, hard feelings developed among the Greek-speaking believers—”Hellenists”—toward the Hebrew-speaking believers because their widows were being discriminated against in the daily food lines. So the Twelve called a meeting of the disciples. They said, “It wouldn’t be right for us to abandon our responsibilities for preaching and teaching the Word of God to help with the care of the poor. So, friends, choose seven men from among you whom everyone trusts, men full of the Holy Spirit and good sense, and we’ll assign them this task. Meanwhile, we’ll stick to our assigned tasks of prayer and speaking God’s Word.”

My Reflections: Interesting 4 verses. It’s a good reminder for me. Sometimes, I feel like I want to be doing a little bit of everything in ministry. And truthfully, this next year, that will be the case! There are a few of us doing alot of work to help make Cinema Church happen. However, in the end, I need to constantly keep my heart in check. Am I doing so much that what my main task is, I am not doing well, or perhaps not even doing at all? It’s a question I have to ask myself more frequently.

My Prayer: God help me to remain focused. In the areas where I am lapsing with this, please show me! Guide me to where You want me to be, to where my talent and gifts from You will be most used! May I have a clean and pure heart through this entire church plant journey (and beyond then too). If there are things that require changing in my ministry and walk with You, please show me and give me the courage and energy to change! Thank you for all Your provisions so far, and thank you for the gifts You have blessed me with! Amen.

Leave a Reply

