To Pierce or Not to Pierce, that is the question?!

So, I’ve been thinking, since Cameron is pretty bald, many times when we are out, people will ask me, how old is he? I’m really getting tired of that! My new thought is I think I may pierce her ears? What are your thoughts? I’d like some advice on this one before I make my final decision. I’d put up a beautiful picture of her, but my camera charger is being held captive in LP at the moment! Hopefully I’ll have it back by tomorrow morning. Okay ladies (and guys), lets hear your advice on piercing ears on 8 month old babies? Wait or do it???

11 Responses to “To Pierce or Not to Pierce, that is the question?!”

  1. Michael Says:

    aint happening…nice try though

  2. Amy Says:

    Do it! Seriously its harder when they get older, because they get anxious and scared and then you have a harder time keeping them clean or end up with one ear pierced……..besides it super cute and then they don’t even remember it happening and its done and over with !

  3. AmyHarris Says:

    I vote no, and here’s why.
    My Michael said no too, which was part of it. In my opinion it was just another something to have to take care of, especially for those first couple of months where you have to twist them and clean them, and Juliana never liked to have you poking at her. She finally had hers done for her 8th birthday, and it was good. She’s old enough to care for them and change her earrings.
    We also have severe nickel allergies in my family and I was a little worried about that when she was a baby. Turns out, she is allergic too, and had a really bad reaction to the piercing earrings, even though we took care of them they were a mess after the first week. I took those suckers out and put in some 14K studs and she cleared up like that. I think I would have felt awful if she had had that reaction as a baby.
    I know a lot of people do it, but that’s why I wouldn’t. 🙂
    And bald is beautiful. I got a lot of that with Juliana even with hair….for some people pink clothing is just not a tell.

  4. rachellarkin Says:

    thanks Amy! I never thought about a nickel allergy. I’ve seen alot of patients in the dental field have those when we place crowns on their teeth! It’s nasty! Okay…I’m thinking no! Wonder if anyone at all will vote yes. It’s so darn cute when you see little ones with pierced ears! But maybe she’ll appreciate it more if she has to wait and ask!

  5. rachellarkin Says:

    why not daddy??? (that was Cam asking!) haha

  6. StephG. Says:

    Awe! That would be cute. Your a good Mom you would be able to take care of ’em! That way you wouldn’t have to worry about it when shes older.

  7. me Says:

    Just plain NO

  8. faithwilson Says:

    1st I say wait cause bald is beautiful who cares what people say anyway, 2nd no way does she look like a boy and 3rd danielle had hers done when she was little (around 2) and i had to do them again. They bothered her so i took them out. Oh, wait now she has that bar thingy, better not listen to me 🙂 I guess there is no real right answer and you’ll have to decide but I’m with Steph, you’d take good care of them i’m sure.

  9. jolittle Says:

    I let Haylee do them when she was old enough to take care of them herself, Hannah too. Haylee had wicked reactions and can only wear really good (expensive) earrings or she gets all crusty and gross. Lauren wants them no way no how, so I am glad I never did her as a baby. 🙂
    They do look cute on babies tho, but so do other head accessories… Aunt Jo will make her some stylin girly hat’s and head bows. 😛

  10. Joshua Says:

    I say yes!!

  11. Amy Swor Says:

    When I took our dd to her 8 week check up, the doctor asked during the visit if I was planning on getting her ears pierced. I said probably not for a while. But she started explaining that it would be really easy to do it now while she is so young and didn’t have control of her hands. That way she wouldn’t touch or pull on them. Since they would always be there-she wouldn’t be too curious about them- it would just be apart of her.

    She gave me some suggestions for moms having their infants/little girls ears pierced. Dh was uncertain, but said if I could come up with ten reasons to do it early, he would agree. I easily found ten and dh was convinced.

    After dh read our ped’s suggestions, I called around to find the right place/person to pierce her ears, we went and had her ears pierced at Piercing Pagoda. And the doctor was right. We have never had a problem with her pulling them or touching them. And she is really good about letting me change them. She didn’t even cry much when it was done and much less than her shots. Our ped said if they cry, it is because of being restrained or the noise of the piercing instrument.

    If any moms would like our ped’s tips or need some help convincing dh, write me an e-mail and I’ll send them to you.

    amyswor@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

